LAST year marked a golden age of the BTCC. The maximum 32 car grid brought us one of the closest seasons to date. Leaving it’s mark in the record book for having 12 different race winners and 8 title contenders going into the final round.
More than ever before.

Gordon Shedden snatched the title from Sam Tordoff claiming back to back honors, retaining the trophy for Team Dynamics and the Honda Civic Type-R.

Here is a table with all of the confirmed returning drivers and teams:



The first team change came from Andrew Jordan. Leaving the Ford Focus and Motorbase for WSR and the BMW 1-Series. Having announced his plans early it seems he is ahead of the bunch with testing. Confirmed to have tested at 3 tracks, Jordan says he feels at home in the car. The team have also sampled the new regulation tyres for next year, which are wider and fatter to provide more grip. This is unsurprising as it can be difficult switching to a rear wheel drive BTCC car, proven by many drivers last season and the team wants to hit the ground running. The rest of the WSR driver line-up is to be confirmed.

Andrew Jordan 2017 BMW 1-series with Pirtek Livery

The next change also comes from West Surrey Racing. Sam Tordoff has moved on to British GT. The young racer finished a close second last year in the BMW.

In another surprising move, Colin Turkington confirms he has parted from team BMR. After two successful years with the team the shock announcement broke today from the Autosport International show. It is unknown weather Turkington has a drive for next season.

It was also announced today that AMDTuning have recruited current UK Clio Cup Champion Ant Whorton-Eales for their second Audi s3 alongside Ollie Jackson.

whorton-eales 2017 Livery.

Motorbase Performance surprised many announcing their new signings as Martin Depper and Luke Davenport. The pair will run along side Mat Jackson in the Shredded Wheat Ford Focus.

Motorbase and Shredded Wheat partnership.

With many big names such as Jack Goff, Rob Collard and Colin Turkington still without a team, getting a seat in the BTCC is more competitive than ever. All announcements will be finalised on March 16th at the Donnington Park Season Launch.