AFTER many previous years of success in the British Touring Car Championship, Vauxhall announce a surprise re-entry for 2017. This is their first manufacturer entry since 2009.

Teaming up with Power Maxed Raing, two new Astra models will be run in the 2017 season. After being voted European Car Of The Year in 2016 many are hopeful for a strong return to the series. Below are renders of the new car in PMR’s striking livery:

As of now there aren’t any driver announcements and it is unknown wether last year’s team, Hunter Abbott and Kelvin Fletcher, are continuing with the new partnership. The factory backed team will run alongside MG, Honda, BMW and Subaru in the fight for top honours in Britain’s premier racing series.

Vauxhall took their first championship with John Cleland in 1989 before he claimed their second title six years later. It wasn’t until the 2000’s that Vauxhall took hold of the championship. Lifting the crown an incredible four times back to back, 2001-2004. Yvan Muller, Jason Plato and laterly Fabritzio Giovanardi all succeeding with Vauxhall.

Take a look at this iconic footage from 1998 as Alain Menu and John Cleland battle in what many consider the glory days of the BTCC:

The announcement is already proving popular with the Official BTCC website crashed since the 6PM announcement. The team have promised updates on the car builds and driver announcements in the coming weeks.